Sign Up If You Want To:
- Speak with a professional in detail
about driving record services.
- Discover the power of screening
Wyoming Driving Record
To drive legally in Wyoming, you must have a valid driver license, instruction permit, intermediate license or restricted license. Wyoming licenses are issued by the Driver Services Program of the Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT).
Wyoming License Suspensions, Cancellations and Revocations
Driving in Wyoming, as in all states, is a privilege, not a right. Abuse the privilege, and you may lose it.
Drinking and driving
An Administrative Per Se Suspension results when you have been arrested for DWUI and the results of your chemical test show an alcohol concentration of 0.08% or greater. Dismissal of the DWUI in court will not affect the Administrative Per Se suspension.
Length of suspension: 90 days. (If you are convicted of the DWUI in court, the time served for the Administrative Per Se suspension will be credited toward the DWUI suspension.)
Start of suspension: 30 days after the issuance of the temporary drivers license and notice of suspension given by the officer at the time of the arrest, or at the end of any existing suspension or revocation. (The procedure to apply for limited driving privileges or a contested case hearing is explained on the form issued by the officer.)
A Suspension for Refusal results when you have been arrested for DWUI and you refuse to submit to the chemical test requested by the law enforcement agency.
Length of suspension: Six months for a first offense; 18 months if there is a previous refusal, or DWUI on your record. (If you plead guilty to the DWUI within 10 days of your court arraignment, the refusal suspension will be deleted from your record.)
Start of suspension: 30 days after the issuance of the temporary drivers license and notice of suspension given by the officer at the time of the arrest, or at the end of any existing suspension or revocation. (The procedure to apply for a contested case hearing is explained on the form issued by the officer.)
Driving While Under the Influence
A DWUI results when you have been convicted in court of Driving While Under the Influence. (In addition to an Administrative Per Se/Refusal, you may be convicted of DWUI.)
Reckless Driving Suspension
This suspension results upon receipt of a conviction of driving a vehicle with willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.
Suspension for Leaving the Scene
A suspension for leaving the scene of an injury accident/homicide by vehicle/ or a felony which is a result of manner of driving is the result of a crash which causes an injury to or death of a person and leaving the scene without rendering aid.
Moving Violation Suspension
You are allowed up to 3 moving violations within a 12-month period. Upon receipt of conviction for a fourth moving violation, you will be notified that your driving privilege will be suspended. A moving violation means an act of control or lack of control by the driver of a motor vehicle while the vehicle is in motion; this includes a violation of the restriction for lenses and/or outside mirrors.
Additional Wyoming Resources