Sign Up If You Want To:
- Speak with a professional in detail
about driving record services.
- Discover the power of screening
Virginia Driving Record
"Each year, motor vehicle crashes nationally claim nearly 42,000 lives, cause millions of injuries and cost Americans more than $150 billion. Motor vehicle crashes, however, aren't accidents. They result from faulty decisions made by drivers.
You make some of the most important decisions before you turn the ignition key. For example, make the decision to buckle up on every ride. And make sure that everyone else in the vehicle is buckled up. Be sure that children are securely placed in a child safety seat, booster seat or safety belt, depending on their age and size." - Timothy M. Kaine, Governor
Virginia Driver License
You must be a resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia and at least 16 years and 3 months of age to obtain a Virginia driver's license. To obtain a learner's permit, you must be at least 15 years and 6 months of age. No exceptions will be made to these age requirements. If you are under age 18, you must provide written consent from one of your parents or your legal guardian unless you are married or emancipated.
Virginia Traffic Laws
- Virginia license plates must be displayed on the vehicle so that all wording, numbers and decals are upright, visible and readable. The license plate holder or frame cannot obscure the license plate number, name or issuing state or expiration decals.
- You must use your headlights during inclement weather, or whenever you use your windshield wipers.
- You must signal before you change lanes, make a turn or pull in front of another vehicle.
- Radar detectors and radar jamming devices are illegal in Virginia. Mobile infrared transmitters that change traffic lights are also illegal.
- Virginia law prohibits the use of hand-held or hands-free cell phones or other wireless devices while operating a school bus. The only exceptions are in an emergency situation or when the vehicle is lawfully parked and for the purposes of dispatching.
- School bus drivers may use two-way radio devices authorized by the owner of the school bus.
- It is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle, moped or bicycle on Virginia roadways while using earphones or headphones in both ears.
- Bicycles are considered vehicles and have the same rights-of-way as motor vehicles; bicycles must also yield the same rights-of-way as motor vehicles.
- If you change your address, you must notify DMV of your new address within 30 days.
- All children under age eight must be properly secured in an approved child safety seat or booster seat.
- All children age six through 15 must be properly secured in an approved child safety seat, booster seat or safety belt no matter where the child is seated in the vehicle. It is unlawful for persons under age 16 to travel in the bed of a pick-up truck.
- The driver and front-seat passenger must wear safety belts.
- If traffic lights are not working at an intersection, the driver on the left must yield to the driver on the right.
- Do not cut through, join, or interfere with a funeral procession. You must yield the right-of-way to the procession.
- Pull to the curb and yield the right-of-way to all approaching emergency vehicles. When approaching a stopped emergency vehicle, you must change lanes or proceed with caution.
- Never drink or use drugs and drive.
- Failure to pay any motor vehicle-related or other court fine and other fees can result in suspension of your driver's license.
- Failure to pay the local vehicle license fee or personal property tax will prohibit you from renewing your vehicle registration(s).
- Virginia's DUI laws apply to the operation of mopeds on public highways.
- It's unlawful to watch television, a motion picture or similar video display while driving. Television monitors must not be placed within the driver's view.
- Metal mesh utility trailers that do not require state inspections must have two or more reflectors or 100 square inches of reflective tape on the rear of the trailer. Reflectors or tape must outline the rear end of the trailer.
- Drive away without paying for gas and you could lose your driver's license and receive a fine of up to $250.
- In Virginia, while you maintain a Virginia registration of a vehicle, you must have insurance for that vehicle - even if it cannot be operated. If you cancel the insurance on a vehicle, the license plates must be returned to DMV immediately.
Virginia Point System
|Points||Type of Violation|
|3||Violation of left turn on red|
|3||Speeding 1-9 MPH over the speed limit|
|4||Following too closely|
|4||Failure to yield right-of-way|
|4||Driving 10-19 MPH over the speed limit|
|6||Driving more than 20 MPH over the speed limit|
Additional Virginia Resources