Sign Up If You Want To:
- Speak with a professional in detail
about driving record services.
- Discover the power of screening
Oklahoma Driving Record
Good drivers know, understand, and respect the laws and safe-driving practices. They drive defensively and courteously, always seeking to improve their driving skills and habits.
Oklahoma Driver License
If you are an Oklahoma resident, you must have an Oklahoma Driver License to operate a car, truck, or motorcycle. You must pass the required tests for the type of vehicle you want to drive. The tests will be given and evaluated by a professional driver examiner of the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety, according to state and national standards.
Your license to operate a motor vehicle on Oklahomas streets and highways is a privilege granted by the state under certain conditions. This privilege is granted only to people who can show that they have the knowledge and the ability to safely operate their vehicles. Abuse of the privilege may result in the loss of your Oklahoma Driver License.
- It is illegal to drive without a license. Even if you have a licensed driver with you, you are breaking the law if you dont have a license or learner permit. Both you and the person who lets you drive the car can be arrested.
- It is illegal for parents to allow their children to drive without a learner permit or driver license.
- It is illegal to let another person drive your vehicle or a vehicle that you are responsible for unless that person has a valid driver license.
Oklahoma Alcohol, Drugs, and Driving
Oklahoma law enforcement is tough on drunk drivers. Alcohol is responsible for about one-fourth of all highway deaths. More young people are crippled, maimed, and killed by drinking and driving or by drunk drivers than by any other cause. If you drink or use drugs and drive, there is a greater possibility that you will be caught, because Oklahoma has improved its laws and increased its law enforcement against drinking drivers.
Oklahoma has tough penalties for anyone driving under the influence or impairment of alcohol and drugs, especially for drivers under 21. The consequences of arrest and conviction will remain on a drivers record. If you are arrested for driving or riding a motorcycle under the influence of drugs, the conviction and penalties can affect you for the rest of your life.
Oklahoma Implied Consent Laws
The very act of driving or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle means that you have agreed to take one or more tests to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC). This law applies to everyone, residents and nonresidents alike. Refusal to take the test upon request by a law enforcement officer will result in an automatic revocation of your driving privilege, even if you have not been drinking. If you have been drinking, the test will determine the BAC level. If the BAC level is 0.08 or more (or any measurable amount if you are under 21 years old), your driver license will be revokedeven if you are not convicted in court of driving under the influence (DUI).
Penalties for DUI - BAC .08 OR MORE
- First offense
- a misdemeanor
- imprisonment in jail for not less than ten days nor more than one year
- a fine of not more than $1,000
- Second offense within ten years
- a felony
- imprisonment for not less than one year, not to exceed five years, and
- a fine of not more than $2,500
- Second felony offense
- a felony
- imprisonment for not less than one year, not to exceed seven years, and
- fine of not more than $5,000
- Third or subsequent offense
- a felony
- imprisonment for not less than one year, not to exceed ten years, and
- fine of not more than $5,000
Oklahoma Driving Facts
Your license is a legal document, the property of the state of Oklahoma, and it is against the law to use it to misrepresent yourself in any way or to allow anyone else to use your license.
In the calendar year 2006, there were 1,615 accidents involving at least one driver age 16 to 25 who were draining, which resulted in 55 deaths.
The Department of Public Safety issued 7,225 duplicate driver licenses for the 18 to 20-year-old age group during that same period. This group was issued more than three duplicates per person and as many as nine duplicates per person. Between the ages of 21 and 26, a total of 8,947 duplicates were issued, showing three or more duplicates per person. This implies a possible 16,172 duplicates of three or more driver licenses issued to someone using a birth certificate of another.
In 2006, the Oklahoma Highway Patrol issued 953 alcohol and drug citations to persons 20 years of age or younger and 1,950 identical citations to those between 21 and 26 years of age.
A total of 20,749 drinking driving-related revocations resulted in the year 2001; of those 2,835 and possibly more were given to persons 20 years of age and younger.
Oklahoma Point System
Two (2) points are deducted for each 12-month period in which there are no convictions of any pointable traffic violations. Points are reduced to zero if there are no traffic violation convictions for three consecutive years.
Two (2) points are deducted for successful completion of a DPS-approved Driver Compliance or Defensive Driving Course. Credit for completing the course can be given once every 24 months. The point total cant go below zero.
|Points||Type of Violation|
|2||Violation of license restriction|
|3||Speed in excess of 25 mph above posted limit|
|4||Failure to stop or remain stopped for a school bus loading or unloading|
|2||Following too close or improperly|
|2||Failure to obey stop sign or traffic light|
|2||Failure to yield right of way|
|2||Left of center or wrong way on one way|
|1||Operating a defective vehicle|
|1||All other violations (excluding the violations requiring suspension or revocation action)|
Additional Oklahoma Resources