Sign Up If You Want To:
- Speak with a professional in detail
about driving record services.
- Discover the power of screening
Ohio Driving Record
Ohio Driver License
Ohios driver licensing system is outlined by the Ohio Revised Code. Chapter 4507 states that no person shall operate a motor vehicle on any public road, or any public or private property used by the public, for vehicular travel or parking unless the operator has passed the required tests and obtained a license from the Registrar of Motor Vehicles.
Ohio Speed Limit
Vehicles may not be driven at speeds greater or less than reasonable, depending on conditions of traffic, road and weather. A driver must keep the vehicle under control in order to be able to bring it to a stop within assured clear distance ahead.
It is unlawful to drive at a speed exceeding:
- 15 mph in all alleys within a municipal corporation
- 20 mph when passing a school building or grounds (school zones) during school recess and while children are going to or leaving school during the opening and closing hours, and when 20 mph school speed limit signs are erected
- 25 mph in all other portions of a municipal corporation, except state routes and through highways outside business districts and alleys
- 35 mph on all state routes or through highways except controlled-access highways within municipal corporations outside business districts.
- 50 mph on state routes within municipal corporations outside urban districts, unless a lower speed is established visibly on a sign
- 55 mph (the maximum speed limit at all times) for vehicles weighing more than 8,000 pounds and non-commercial buses
- 55 mph (the maximum speed limit) on all other highways
- 60 and 65 mph on designated highways for vehicles weighing 8,000 pounds or less and commercial buses
- 65 mph at all times on freeways with paved shoulders inside municipal corporations unless a lower speed is established on a sign
No person shall operate a vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede or block the normal and reasonable movement of traffic, except when reduced speed is necessary for safe operation or to comply with the law. Minimum speed limits are posted on controlled-access highways.
Ohio Seat Belt Law
Ohios mandatory safety belt usage law requires drivers and front-seat occupants of most passenger vehicles to wear safety belts whenever they drive or ride in a motor vehicle on Ohios roadways. If you are a driver under 18 years of age, the number of vehicle occupants is limited to the total number of originally installed safety belts. All occupants must be wearing safety belts when the vehicle is being driven by a probationary license holder.
Ohio Littering Law
Littering from a motor vehicle is a violation of Ohio law. Drivers can be cited for littering, just as they are for other traffic violations, and can also be held responsible for litter discarded by their passengers.
Ohio Drunk Driving
Ohios legal drinking age for alcohol is 21. Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is against the law in Ohio. Evidence of impaired driving is based on physical findings by the arresting officer and the results of a blood, breath, plasma or urine test. It is unlawful to operate a vehicle with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher.
If you refuse to submit to a blood-alcohol test, or if the result of a test taken within two hours of the arrest shows a BAC of .08 percent or higher, the arresting officer will confiscate your license.
Administrative license suspension for a refusal of the BAC test will last from one to five years, depending on the number of prior refusals within six years. For a test failure, the administrative license suspension will last from 90 days to three years, depending on the number of prior OVI convictions within six years.
Those convicted of an OVI offense are subject to the mandatory penalties of time in jail, a court-imposed driver license suspension, and a minimum of $375 to a maximum of $10,500 fine. Penalties are based upon the number of previous OVI convictions over a six-year period.
- First Offense - at least 72 consecutive hours in jail and court license suspension from six months to three years.
- Second Offense - at least 10 consecutive days in jail and court license suspension from one to five years.
- Third Offense - at least 30 consecutive days in jail and court license suspension from one to 10 years.
- Fourth Offense - at least 60 consecutive days in jail and court license suspension from three years to permanent revocation.
Ohio Point System
Any Ohio driver convicted of a traffic violation is assessed a specific number of penalty points according to the type of violation. Should that driver be convicted of a second or subsequent offense within two years after the first violation, the point assessment for the new violation is added to the previous total. The number of penalty points given to a violator are assessed by the court system. Following is a schedule of point assessments for specific violations:
|Points||Type of Violation|
|6||Homicide by vehicle|
|6||Operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or any drug of abuse|
|6||Failure to stop and disclose identity at the scene of a collision|
|6||Willingly fleeing or eluding a law enforcement officer|
|6||Operating a vehicle without the consent of the owner|
|6||Operating a vehicle while operator license is under suspension or revocation|
|6||Using a vehicle in the commission of a felony, or committing any crime punishable as a felony under Ohio motor vehicle laws|
|4||Willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons or property|
|2||All moving violations and some speed offenses|
|2||Operating a motor vehicle in violation of a restriction imposed by the Registrar of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles|
Additional Ohio Resources