Sign Up If You Want To:
- Speak with a professional in detail
about driving record services.
- Discover the power of screening
New Hampshire Driving Record
New Hampshire Driver License
If you are a resident of New Hampshire and want to drive a motor vehicle, you must have a valid New Hampshire driver license.
Who needs a New Hampshire Driver License
- New Hampshire residents who wish to drive a motor vehicle
- New residents - people who move to New Hampshire - are allowed up to 60 days to obtain a New Hampshire driver license
Who does not need a New Hampshire Driver License
- Non-residents who hold a valid driver license from their resident state.
- Members of the Armed Forces stationed in New Hampshire who hold a valid driver license from their home state.
- Foreign citizens who are strictly tourists in the United States and hold a valid driver license from their home country.
- Students who are enrolled full time at a school or college in New Hampshire and have a valid driver license from their home state
- NOTE: Non-resident drivers must be at least 16 years of age and may drive only those classes of vehicles that their license allows
New Hampshire Drunk Driving
No driver, except as provided herein, shall transport, carry, possess or have ANY liquor OR alcoholic beverage within the passenger area of any motor vehicle upon any way in this state except in the original container and with an unbroken seal. Securely capped, partially filled containers of liquor or alcoholic beverages shall be stored and transported in the trunk of the motor vehicle. If the vehicle does NOT have a trunk, such container shall be stored and transported in a compartment or area LEAST accessible to the driver.
A first offense violation of this section may result in a 60-day suspension of license/operating privileges and up to one year for a second or subsequent offense.
Administrative License Suspension provides for a license suspension when any person submits to a test which shows an alcohol concentration at or above the legal limit. The legal limits are 0.08 for persons 21 years of age or older and 0.02 for those under age 21 years of age. If you submit to a test and the results are at or above the legal limit, your license/operating privileges shall be suspended for six (6) months. However, under New Hampshire law, if you have prior test results OR a prior refusal on your record within 10 years, the suspension shall be 2 years.
New Hampshire Driving Laws
- Vehicles must be inspected once a year and the month of inspection shall be the owners month of birth.
- Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) must not be removed, defaced, obliterated or changed
- New Hampshire law requires that all children under 18 years of age must wear a seat belt or be secured in a child seat, properly adjusted and fastened, while a passenger in a motor vehicle on any highway in the State.
- New Hampshire law requires all riders and passengers under the age of 18 to wear helmets approved by the U. S. Department of Transportation
New Hampshire Point System
The Director of Motor Vehicles reminds all motorists that points are assessed for convictions of violations. The number of points assessed depends on the seriousness of the offense with the point value being 1, 2, 3, 4 or 6.
|Points||Type of Violation|
|1||Operating without vehicle registration available in the vehicle.|
|1||Failing to obey inspection requirements.|
|1||Failing to obtain a N.H. drivers license.|
|2||Driving an unregistered vehicle.|
|2||Failing to produce a license when requested by a police officer.|
|2||Allowing an improper person to operate a motor vehicle. (Improper person is an unlicensed person, under aged person, person under suspension or revocation, etc.)|
|2||Failing to abide by license restrictions.|
|2||Operating a vehicle with improper class of license.|
|2||Operating without a motorcycle license.|
|2||Failing to comply with directions from a police officer.|
|2||Allowing an improper person to operate a commercial motor vehicle.|
|3||Disobeying any traffic control device.|
|3||Following too closely.|
|3||Driving on a sidewalk.|
|3||Failing to yield right of way.|
|3||Failing to obey yield sign.|
|3||Failing to obey stop and yield signs.|
|3||Failing to use due care when a partially or totally blind person crosses the street.|
|3||Failing to signal a turn.|
|3||Improper conduct at a railroad crossing.|
|3||Obstructing the drivers view (by persons, objects, etc.).|
|3||Opening and closing vehicle doors improperly.|
|3||Following fire trucks too closely.|
|3||Carrying passengers in a truck not so designed.|
|3||Speeding at less than 25 MPH above the posted limit.|
|3||Misuse of plates.|
|3||Misuse or failure to display plates.|
|3||Abandoning a vehicle.|
|4||Driving without a license.|
|4||Speeding at 25 MPH or more above the posted limit.|
|4||Failing to drive on the right side of the road.|
|4||Yellow line violation.|
|4||Driving without required insurance.|
|6||Improper use of a registration certificate.|
|6||False report of a theft.|
|6||Removal or changes to vehicle identification number.|
|6||Improper use of license.|
|6||Modifying or forging inspection sticker or registration decal.|
|6||School bus violation.|
|6||Taking motor vehicle without the owners consent.|
|6||Lending a drivers license to an under-age person to buy alcoholic beverages.|
|6||Driving after license revocation or suspension.|
|6||Failure to stop immediately after a crash.|
|6||Disobeying a police officer.|
|6||Racing and/or reckless driving.|
|6||Driving a motor vehicle while in possession of controlled drug(s).|
|6||Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.|
Additional New Hampshire Resources
New Hampshire County Coverage
New Hampshire City Coverage