Sign Up If You Want To:
- Speak with a professional in detail
about driving record services.
- Discover the power of screening
Michigan Driving Record
"Driving is a complex task that requires good reflexes, vision and physical coordination. Equally important are the ability to concentrate and make good decisions quickly as well as common ense, experience and civility. Even the most seasoned motorists
know that becoming a safe driver is a lifelong endeavor there is always something to learn that can enhance your skills." - Terri Lynn Land, Secretary of State
Michigan Driver License Requirements
You must meet certain requirements before a Michigan drivers license can be issued. If you are age 18 or older, you are not required to take driver education, although it is strongly recommended.
If you are applying for your first Michigan drivers license, you will need to present proof of a valid Social Security number or a letter of ineligibility from the Social Security Administration, U.S. citizenship or legal presence, identity, and Michigan residency. Complete details are available on the Department of State Web site or by calling (888) SOS-MICH (767-6424).
You will not be issued a license if you have never been licensed in Michigan, any other state or country, and you have two or more convictions for moving violations on your driving record within the three years before the date you apply. To be
eligible to reapply, you must wait until you have no more than one conviction on your driving record within the three years before the date you reapply.
Michigan Mandatory Licensing Actions
Michigan law requires the Department of State to automatically restrict, suspend, or revoke your drivers license for certain violations. For example, stealing motor fuel, reckless driving, drunken driving, and refusing to submit to a breath test will all result in mandatory restrictions, suspensions, or revocations.
When you drink alcohol or use other drugs and drive, you endanger your life as well as the lives of your passengers and other motorists. Each year, thousands of people are killed or permanently disabled because someone drove under the influence of alcohol or other chemical substances. Michigan takes a strong stand against drivers who abuse substances and drive. This section provides information about drinking and driving, penalties for breaking the law, and the states tough Repeat Offender laws.
Michigan law requires drivers license suspensions for drug convictions, even if you were not driving at the time of the offense. Even the possession, manufacture or distribution of drugs may result in a drivers license suspension. If there are no prior drug violations, your drivers license is suspended for six months. No restricted license is allowed for the first 30 days. One or more prior drug convictions in seven years means your drivers license will be suspended for one year. No restricted license is allowed for the first 60 days. The drivers license reinstatement fee is $125. This fee is separate from the reinstatement fee required for any other driving activity.
Michigan Driving Facts
- 315,322 motor vehicle crashes were reported. Deaths numbered 1,084 and 81,942 people were injured
- Of all fatal crashes, 25.7 percent occurred at intersections
- Alcohol was involved in 349 fatal crashes
- Four out of five accidental deaths for young people ages 15-24 were due to motor vehicle crashes
- Motor vehicle crashes remained the number one cause of accidental death for young children, far outpacing the next two most frequent causes: fires and drowning
- More than one-third of all pedestrian fatalities occurred at crossings other than at intersections.
- Excessive speed was a factor in 19.8 percent of fatalcrashes.
Michigan Point System
|Points||Type of Violation|
|2||10 mph or less over the legal speed limit.|
|2||Open alcohol container in vehicle.|
|2||All other moving violations of traffic laws.|
|2||Refusal of Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by anyone under age 21.|
|3||Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign or improper passing.|
|3||11 through 15 mph over the legal speed limit.|
|3||Failure to stop at railroad crossing.|
|3||Failure to stop for a school bus or for disobeying a school crossing guard.|
|4||Operating while visibly impaired.|
|4||Under age 21 with any bodily alcohol content.|
|4||16 mph or more over the legal speed limit.|
|4||Failure to yield/show due caution for emergency vehicles.|
|6||Manslaughter, negligent homicide, or other felony involving use of a motor vehicle.|
|6||Operating under the influence of liquor or drugs.|
|6||Failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash.|
|6||Unlawful bodily alcohol content of 0.08 or more.|
|6||Refusal to take a chemical test.|
|6||Fleeing or eluding a police officer.|
Additional Michigan Resources