Sign Up If You Want To:
- Speak with a professional in detail
about driving record services.
- Discover the power of screening
Massachusetts Driving Record
All Massachusetts residents need to obtain a valid Massachusetts license in order to operate a motor vehicle in Massachusetts.
Anyone who is a Massachusetts resident, is at least 16 years old, and has not had a driver's license or the right to operate revoked may apply to begin the process of obtaining a Class D or Class M License at any full-service RMV Branch
Massachusetts Violations and Penalties
When you break a motor vehicle law, you may receive a citation. A citation may require that you pay a fine, lose your driving privileges, appear in court, or go to jail. Major traffic law violations, such as driving while intoxicated or leaving the scene of an accident, are criminal offenses that carry severe penalties and could cause you to lose your license. You can also lose your license through a series of traffic violations, such as driving above the speed limit or failing to obey traffic signals.
Motor vehicle violations fall into two categories: civil and criminal. The following sections explain the differences between the two violations. For many motor vehicle violations, the penalties may be more severe if you hold a Junior Operators License, if you are under 21, if you are a repeat offender, or if you are driving with a commercial drivers license (CDL).
Massachusetts Mandatory License Suspensions
The Registrar of Motor Vehicles has the right to suspend or revoke your drivers license according to Massachusetts law or when he/she considers you to be a threat to public safety. Some motor vehicle violations require the immediate suspension or revocation of your license. You can also lose your license for committing a number of moving violations over time or for being at fault in a number of accidents.
|Situation||Explanation||Suspension Period||Fee to Reinstate|
|Three Speeding Violations||Three speeding violations/ responsible findings within any one-year period.||30 days||$100|
|Five Surchargeable Events||Any combination of moving violations and surchargeable accidents that total five surchargeable events within a three-year period.||Must complete Driver Retraining course within 90 days or license will be suspended indefinitely until course is completed||$100|
|Seven Surchargeable Events||Any combination of moving violations and surchargeable accidents that total seven surchargeable events within a three-year period.||60 days||$100|
|Habitual Traffic Offender||A total of three major moving violations or any combination of twelve major or minor moving violations within a five-year period.||4 Years||$500|
|Out-of-State Suspension||License has been suspended or revoked in another state.||Until the out-of-state suspension is resolved||$100|
Massachusetts Criminal Offenses and Suspensions
|Criminal Conviction||Suspension Period||Fee to Reinstate|
|Operating a motor vehicle with a suspended or revoked license||60 daysOne year||$500|
|Operating a motor vehicle without the owners authority larceny of a motor vehicle||OneThree years||$500|
|Leaving the scene of an accident when a person is injured||OneTwo years||$500|
|Leaving the scene of an accident involving property damage||60 daysOne year||$500|
|Operating to endanger||60 daysOne year||$500|
|Motor vehicle homicide||15 yearsLifetime||$500|
|Vehicular manslaughter||15 yearsLifetime||$500|
|Operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs||One year (first) - Two years (second) - Eight years (third) - Ten years (fourth) - Lifetime (fifth)||$500 (first) - $700 (second) -$1200 (third) - $1200 (fourth) - N/A (fifth)|
|Any drug-related conviction (Operation of a vehicle is not required)||OneFive years||$500|
|Defacing real or personal property, spraying paint or applying stickers or other graffiti (Operation of a vehicle is not required)||One year (or delay of one year in obtaining a License)||$100|
|Drag racing (by drivers over the age of 18)||30 days-180 days||$500 - $1,000|
Massachusetts Point System
|Points||Type of Violation|
|5||Major traffic violation (such as DUI)|
|4||Major at-fault accident (such as a claim over $2,000)|
|3||Minor at-fault accident (claim of $500 to $2,000)|
|2||Minor traffic violation (such as speeding)|
Additional Massachusetts Resources
Massachusetts County Coverage
Massachusetts City Coverage