Sign Up If You Want To:
- Speak with a professional in detail
about driving record services.
- Discover the power of screening
Illinois Driving Record
To drive legally in Illinois, you must have a valid drivers license, instruction permit, Restricted Driving Permit, Judicial Driving Permit or Monitoring Device Driving Permit.
Illinois Safety Belt Law
Safety belts must be worn by all drivers and front-seat passengers age 8 and over even if the vehicle has air bags. It is the responsibility of the driver to ensure that all front-seat passengers ages 8 to 16 obey this law. Anyone found guilty of disobeying this law is subject to a fine and court costs. Children under age 16 are covered by the Child Passenger Protection Act. A child up to age 16 not in a safety seat must wear safety belts regardless of the location in the vehicle.
Illinois Child Passenger Protection Act
The Child Passenger Protection Act requires the use of an appropriate safety restraint system for children under age 16. Any person transporting a child under age 16 is responsible for that childs safety. Children under age 8 must be appropriately secured in an approved child restraint system, which includes a booster seat. A child weighing more than 40 pounds may be transported in the back seat of a motor vehicle while wearing only a lap belt if the back seat is not equipped with a combination lap and shoulder belt.
Illinois Speed Limits
The maximum speed limit in Illinois is 65 mph on rural interstate tollways, freeways and some four-lane highways where posted. The maximum speed limit on most other highways is 55 mph. The maximum speed limit for second division vehicles is 55 mph. You may drive at the maximum allowable speed only under safe conditions. For safety purposes, a minimum speed limit may be posted along certain roadways. When minimum limits are not posted, drivers should not drive so much slower than the maximum limit that they interfere with the normal movement of traffic.
Illinois Additional Laws
Motorists should familiarize themselves with local laws as there may be a variance between municipalities. Illinois law states that you may not:
- drive on a sidewalk except when it is part of a driveway.
- back up on any shoulder or roadway of any controlled access highway.
- back up on other roadways unless it is done safely and does not interfere with other vehicles.
- open doors on the side of a vehicle on which traffic is moving unless it can be done safely and without interfering with traffic. The door may remain open only long enough to load or unload passengers.
- wear a headset while driving. Headsets are defined as any device, other than a hearing aid, that allows the wearer to hear or receive electronic communications. (The use of a single-sided headset or earpiece with a wireless phone is permitted.) Motorcycle, motor-driven cycle and moped operators may use intercom helmets that permit drivers and/or passengers to speak to one another.
- drive onto a railroad crossing, enter an intersection or drive within a marked crosswalk unless there is enough space to allow passage of other vehicles, pedestrians or railroad trains.
- drive over fire hoses unless permitted by the fire official in command.
- push a vehicle on a rural highway unless there is an emergency and it should be removed to avoid a hazard.
- tow one vehicle with another except by a drawbar. In most cases, the distance between the two cars should not exceed 15 feet. A towed vehicle also should be coupled to the towing vehicle with two chains or cables.
- remove a wrecked or damaged vehicle from the roadway without removing all glass and other debris.
- overload a vehicle with passengers or freight so that the drivers view is obstructed. No more than three persons should ride in the front seat of a vehicle.
- ride in a house trailer while it is being moved on a street or highway.
- operate or permit to be operated any sound system (radio, tape player, disc player) at a volume that can be heard 75 feet or more from a vehicle being driven on a highway.
- use a wireless phone while operating a motor vehicle if under age 19, unless in the case of an emergency.
Illinois Driver License Points
|Points||Type of Violation|
|10||Squealing or screeching of tires|
|10||Driving too fast for conditions|
|5||1 to 10mph over|
|15||11 to 14mph over|
|20||15 to 25mph over|
|50||More than 25mph over|
|20||Exceeding the maximum speed limit in a school zone|
|5||Driving below the minimum speed limit|
|20||Driving below the minimum speed limit on an Illinois tollway|
|20||Not driving in the right-hand lane when proceeding at less than the normal speed of traffic|
|10||Exceeding the maximum speed limit on a bridge or elevated structure|
Additional Illinois Resources